Academy elects new Board of Governors

There are six first-time governors who are elected to the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences: Lisa Cholodenko, Dante Spinotti, John Knoll, Dick Cook, Scott Millan and Bill Condon.

“Returning to the board after a hiatus are Michael Mann, Directors; Arthur Hamilton, Music; and Kathleen Kennedy, Producers. Mann previously served from 2000 to 2006. Hamilton most recently served from 2008 to 2011, he has served a total of 33 years. Kennedy was on the board from 1994 to 1997 and again from 2002 to 2011.

The reelected governors are Tom Hanks, Actors; Jim Bissell, Designers; Rob Epstein, Documentary; Mark Goldblatt, Film Editors; Leonard Engelman, Makeup and Hairstylists; Rob Friedman, Public Relations and Bill Kroyer; Short Films & Feature Animation.

Fourteen of the Academy’s 15 branches are represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or reelects one governor each year. The Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch is represented by a single governor.

At the end of 2011, Directors Branch Governor Paul Mazursky stepped down from his seat on the Board. Lisa Cholodenko was elected to complete the 2 years remaining on Mr. Mazursky’s term and Michael Mann was elected to a new three-year term.

Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the Board are Ed Begley, Jr. and Annette Bening, Actors Branch; John Bailey and Richard Crudo, Cinematographers; Rosemary Brandenburg and Jeffrey Kurland, Designers; Kathryn Bigelow, Directors; Michael Apted and Michael Moore, Documentary; Jim Gianopulos and Robert Rehme, Executives; Anne V. Coates and Michael Tronick, Film Editors; Charles Fox and David L. Newman, Music; Gale Anne Hurd and Hawk Koch, Producers; Cheryl Boone Isaacs and Marvin Levy, Public Relations; Jon Bloom and John Lasseter, Short Films and Feature Animation; Curt Behlmer and Don Hall, Sound; Craig Barron and Richard Edlund, Visual Effects; and Frank Pierson and Phil Robinson, Writers.”

Thanks to the Academy

Ginger Liu

Oz The Great and Powerful Trailer

Billed as a prequel to The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, Disney’s March 2013 release comes at a perfect time. I’m certainly one of the neigh sayers for producing a sequel to a classic but 3D is perfect for this fantasy film.

This time round there’s an adult male protagonist, Oscar Diggs (James Franco), a small-time circus magician who discovers the land of Oz and transforms himself into the great Wizard of Oz. And that put me in another downer – yet another male lead.

Michelle Williams, Rachel Weisz and Mila Kunis form an impressive female cast but there’ll be no singing in director Sam Raimi’s take. Check out their interviews at Comic-Con 2012.

“The Hobbit’ wraps up in New Zealand

Peter Jackson on Facebook

Peter Jackson announced via Facebook that filming of the much anticipated “The Hobbit” has finally wrapped. His shout out to Comic-Con – “We made it! Shoot day 266 and the end of principal photography on The Hobbit. Thanks to our fantastic cast and crew for getting us this far, and to all of you for your support! Next stop, the cutting room. Oh, and Comic Con! Cheers, Peter J.”

“The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” is due for release on December 14, 2012 with the second part of the prequel, “The Hobbit: There and Back Again,” released on December 13, 2013.

The prequel was shot in New Zealand like Jackson’s “Lord of the Rings” trilogy but will be in 3D.

The Hobbit