Academy announces new dates for 85 Academy Awards

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today key dates for the 2013 Academy Award season.


The Academy is providing members and the public a longer period of time to see nominated films and to vote electronically for the 85th ceremony.



“The Academy will make several voting resources available to members during the transition, including the installation of assisted voting stations in Los Angeles, New York and London, a 24-hour telephone help line during voting periods, and paper ballots.

In the pre-Nominations phase, members will continue to vote via paper ballot in eight categories due to specialized screening schedules and processes. Those categories are Animated Feature Film, Animated Short Film, Live Action Short Film, Documentary Feature, Documentary Short Subject, Foreign Language Film, Makeup and Hairstyling and Visual Effects.

The Academy Awards ceremony will be held at The Dolby Theatre™ at Hollywood & Highland Center® in Hollywood, and will be televised live by the ABC Television Network. A 90-minute red carpet show will immediately precede the broadcast.”

The key dates are:

Friday, November 30, 2012: Official Screen Credits dueSaturday, December 1, 2012: Governors Awards presentationMonday, December 17, 2012: Nominations voting beginsThursday, January 3, 2013: Nominations voting ends 5 p.m. PTThursday, January 10, 2013: Nominations announced 5:30 a.m. PT, Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn TheaterMonday, February 4, 2013: Nominees LuncheonFriday, February 8, 2013: Final voting beginsSaturday, February 9, 2013: Scientific and Technical Awards presentationTuesday, February 19, 2013: Final voting ends 5 p.m. PTSunday, February 24, 2013: 85th Academy Awards presentation

Ginger Media & Entertainment

Harvey Weinstein will debut “Finding Neverland” on UK stage

Hollywood movie producer is prepping the stage production initially in Leister and hopes to transfer it to London’s West End and then Broadway if it is a hit.

The $10 million stage version of the 2004 film, which starred Johnny Depp and Kate Winslet, told the story of Peter Pan’s British author and creator, JM Barrie.

The production will debut at the Curve Theatre and will star Julian Ovenden and Rosalie Craig.

Jeffrey Katzenberg to receive Academy’s Governors Award

Tonight the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences voted to present the Jean Hersholt Humanitairian Award to philanthropist Jeffrey Katzenberg and Honorary Awards to arts advocate George Stevsn, Jr., documentarian D.A. Pennebaker and stunt performer Hal Needham.



“Hal Needham is a legendary stunt performer and coordinator who has worked on more than 300 feature films including “The Spirit of St. Louis,” “How the West Was Won,” “Blazing Saddles,” “Little Big Man” and “Chinatown.” A pioneer in improving stunt technology and safety procedures, Needham also co-founded Stunts Unlimited, and is known for mentoring young stunt performers. In 1986, the Academy presented Needham with a Scientific and Engineering Award for the design and development of the Shotmaker Elite camera car and crane, which allows filmmakers greater versatility in shooting action sequences. Needham made his directorial debut with “Smokey and the Bandit.” He went on to direct such features as “Hooper” and the “Cannonball Run” films.

D. A. Pennebaker, a pioneer of modern nonfiction film, has directed more than 20 feature-length documentaries, including “Don’t Look Back,” “Monterey Pop,” “Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars,” “Moon over Broadway,” “Kings of Pastry” and “The War Room,” for which he received an Oscar® nomination. During his career of more than six decades, Pennebaker has inspired generations of filmmakers with his “you are here” style. He is considered one of the founders of the cinéma vérité movement, beginning with his collaboration on the seminal 1960 film “Primary.”

George Stevens, Jr. has spent a lifetime celebrating and preserving the heritage of motion pictures. After several years at the United States Information Agency, where he championed the work of young documentary filmmakers and was Oscar-nominated for producing the documentary short subject “The Five Cities of June,” Stevens went on to become the founding director of the American Film Institute. Under his leadership, the AFI established the Center for Advanced Film Studies, created the AFI Life Achievement Award and embarked on a host of educational initiatives. In 1977, Stevens co-founded the Kennedy Center Honors, which he has produced for the past 34 years.

A studio executive, film producer and philanthropist, Jeffrey Katzenberg has been instrumental in raising money for education, art and health-related causes, particularly those benefiting the motion picture industry. During more than two decades as chairman of the board for the Motion Picture and Television Fund, he helped to raise $200 million for the organization, created “The Night Before” event and worked to expand the MPTF campus. He also serves on the boards of such organizations as the California Institute of the Arts, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, AIDS Project Los Angeles, the Geffen Playhouse, The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research, the Simon Wiesenthal Center and the USC School of Cinematic Arts. Katzenberg currently serves as CEO of DreamWorks Animation.” The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Ginger Media & Entertainment