Oscars 2009: Winners Kate Winslet, Sean Penn, Slumdog Millionaire

Read my article in The Examiner

gl/2009/2/22

The Best Actress nominations were presented by Sophia Loren, Shirley Mclain, Hale Berry, Nicole Kidman and Marion Cotillard and was presented to Kate Winslet for “The Reader.” “That fainting thing Penelope. I’d be lying if I hadn’t made a version of this speech in the bathroom and this would have been a shampoo bottle. Well it’s not a shampoo bottle now. I think we all can’t believe we’re in a category with Meryl Streep at all. I’m sorry Meryl but you have to just suck that up.”

The Best Actor award was presented by Adrian Brody, Robert De Niro, Michael Douglas, Sir Anthony Hopkins, Sir Ben Kingsley. De Niro said of Sean Penn, “Tonight it’s great to be an actor, in life it’s great to be good human being and that is Sean Penn.” And it was Penn who won for his performance in “Milk.” “You comy homo sons of guns. I know how hard I make it to appreciate me.  For those who saw the signs of hatred outside, to those people there is great shame in their grandchildrens eyes. We’ve got to have equel rights for everyone. And one last thing, Mickey Rourke rises again and he’s my brother.”

The Best Picture award was presented by Steven Spielberg and went to Christian Colson for Slumdog Millionaire.

Leave a Reply

