Oscars 2009: Milk and Slumdog Millionaire win for Best Screenplays

Read my article in The Examiner

gl/2009/2/22

Steve Martin and Tina Fey introduced the nominees for the Best Original Screenplay and read the nominees in script form in what was probably the best intro to nominees in Oscar history.

Original Screenplay winner Dustin Lance Black made a forceful acceptance speech for his win for

“Milk”. Speaking to a gay audience he said, “I want to thank my mom, who has always loved me for who I am even when there was pressure not to. But most of all, if Harvey had not been taken from us 30 years ago, I think he’d want me to say to all of the gay and lesbian kids out there tonight who have been told that they are less than by their churches, by the government or by their families, that you are beautiful, wonderful creatures of value and that no matter what anyone tells you, God does love you and that very soon, I promise you, you will have equal rights federally, across this great nation of ours. Thank you. Thank you. And thank you, God, for giving us Harvey Milk.”

Adapted Screenplay winner, Simon Beaufoy for Slumdog Millionaire, “There are certain places in the universe you never imagine standing. For me it’s the moon, the South Pole, the Miss World podium and here.”

Leave a Reply

